Testing, Testing

Fruit Pizza

I can upload a picture. Phew.

I’ve read up a little in the last couple of weeks about blogs and I have come to three conclusions.
1. I’m going to need an English tutor.
2. I’m gonna need a new camera.
3. I’m gonna need to start cooking/baking more during the day.

Sadly, the last of the three will be the most difficult. In Wisconsin, we lose the beauty of the sun at 4:30 p.m. (currently).  On a good day, I am out of work at 4:00 p.m.  If I’m lucky enough to leave work that early and no one has managed run their car off the road resulting in a tremendous amount of traffic, I’m home in 20 minutes. Then I have a dog that needs to go out.  Needless to say, I rarely see the light of day during the week while at home. I promise I will do my best to make use of the daylight photo-ops. I’ll do so at work if I have to.  As long as we can keep that a secret between you & me.

With that being said, here is how easy it is to make what is shown in my test photo, Fruit Pizza . I adapted it  from a book of family recipes my mom gifted me about 10 years ago. She hand wrote 50 or so she knows I love.   Most of which are completely void of measurements, but that is a whole other story.  Her recipe called for twice the sugar and a glaze over the top.  I tend to avoid the over-use of sugar and eliminated the glaze entirely.

Fruit Pizza

Ingredients:

1 package sugar cookie (in the roll, I typically use Pillsbury brand. It’s delicious.)

1 8 oz package of cream cheese

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Fruit of your choosing.  (Try to select fruits that do not brown.)

Directions

Heat your oven to 375°. Grease a 10 inch tart dish  (or baking dish of your choice). Cut the cookie dough into 1/3 inch slices (approximately) and line  pan.  The slices should overlap slightly.  Bake for about 12 minutes or until slightly browned.

Mix the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla together in a bowl.

Once the cookie crust is cool, spread the cream cheese mixture over the cookie. Top with fruit.

Have fun with this one! I once made it on a regular cookie sheet and made it look like a flag using blueberries, strawberries and bananas to look like a flag.

*Also, this recipe does not keep well. I highly recommend that you make it the day you intend to devour eat it.  Typically there are no left overs to worry about.

Leave a Reply

