Coconut Almond Granola

Coconut Almond Granola

I could have sworn I was on an episode of boiling points the other day. We were at the Ben Folds concert and I was absolutely certain that, in enough time, a television crew was going to pop out from the crowd and give me a couple of hundred bucks for not letting the man behind me have it.

A part of me is convinced that the man’s legs had to have been completely numb to not feel just how many times he hit the back of my seat.  I can understand the accidental bump a couple of times. Really, I can. But this was on the verge of intentional.  And the seats at the Orpheum aren’t that close. About 1/2 way through the concert the man left his seat and never returned. Part of me wanted to jump up in the midst of a slow ballad and rejoice. I could sit back and enjoy the concert (because it was really great); the other part of me was pissed I was not going to see a reward for such patience. (Patience has not always been my strong point.)

Regardless of the disturbance, I quickly developed a strong affection for Mr. Folds. At one point he managed to orchestrate the entire audience to sing various portions of a song he had written. I was in awe when I realized the sheer creativity involved with such a task. Do not even get me started about the amount of preparation. In the end he will have a 16,000 person acapella song. Cool, right? You can see his what he’s up to here.

Also, he brought Street Corner Symphony, which knocked my socks off. (If you watched The Sing Off, trust me when I say they’re even better live.)

Moving along… I recently made a batch of granola. This crunchy snack is perfection when paired with greek yogurt and a cup of coffee in the morning. By far one of my favorite ways to start the day.  I must have looked at 50 granola recipes before settling on this one. You can substitute the nuts or coconut for other ingredients. Just be sure to adjust the timing of the baking to not burn delicate dried fruits. I would suggest adding most of them as needed, by serving. Oh… and your house will smell PHENOMENAL. Nothing has ever made my house smell quite so good.

Coconut Almond Granola

Straight up copied and pasted from The Tampopo Post.

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (or whatever spice you’d like)
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons canola or other neutral oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup roughly chopped almonds
1/4 cup coconut

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 325.
2. Combine the first three ingredients in a bowl and give a good stir.
3. In a pot, combine the honey (I find it’s easier to pour if you heat the honey up a bit first), brown sugar, and oil, and heat it gently until it becomes a uniform syrup. Stir in the vanilla right before step 4.
4. Add the syrup to the oats and stir to coat everything before dumping the whole sticky mess onto a baking sheet lined with parchment or a baking mat. Spread the oats out a bit, but be sure to leave some clusters in there.
5. Pop into the oven for 10 minutes, then remove and flip the granola over with a spatula. Add the almonds and back it goes into the oven for another 10 minutes. Remove the granola again, add the coconut, flip, and send it back to the oven to finish up for another 5 minutes.
6. Remove from the oven and let sit until cool. Then break it up into a big jar with a lid, and you’re set! (You could even add some dried fruit at this point, but be aware that the inclusion of raisins in an otherwise tasty food could be perceived as malice and could do damage to good, solid friendships.)

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Why am I just finding your blog now?!! Not happy about that! 🙂 But I’m glad you’ve joined the blogging world!!
    Your pictures are amazing by the way.

    1. Marnie says:

      Emily,

      I wanted to get a few posts up before I told too many people. I’m so excited to have this up and running. It’s more work than I anticipated but so worth it.

  2. nancyc says:

    I love granola, and this recipe sounds really good! Thanks for posting it!

    1. Marnie says:

      You are very welcome!

  3. Chaya says:

    STEALING Tonight…wish me luck!

    1. Marnie says:

      Good Luck! You’ll do great I know!

  4. That sounds absolutely AMAZING!!!! I love how you used coconut, almonds, and vanilla together!!! Such a nice combination! 😀

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    1. Marnie says:

      Thanks! (Although the proper credit goes to Cat at The Tampopo Post.) One bite and I knew it needed no tweaking what-so-ever in my book. 🙂

  5. caronlyn says:

    This sounds delicious! I will definitely have to try this.
    I don’t normally eat much granola, but I think if I attempted to make it at home, I’d enjoy it even more!

    Thanks for sharing this recipe.

    1. Marnie says:

      You are very welcome. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

  6. rsmacaalay says:

    This is my type of granola, Yummy for breakfast

  7. Chaya says:

    Question…I want to make my granola a little more “clumpy” (yes, that’s a word) – I added more honey, but it still didn’t do the trick. Any ideas…

    Preface: I want to use it has a munchie snack

    1. Marnie says:

      Hi Chaya!
      I would try to make 1 1/2 times the syrup mixture and keep the dry ingredients even. That might help make it “clumpy”. (I like that word!) I try to minimize mine (even if it’s less clumpy) to lower the sugar. I did stumble across this recipe… http://www.cookiemadness.net/2006/11/clumpy-granola/
      She suggests covering the granola with foil when cooking and at a lower temperature. Worth a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

