Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Last fall I went to a friends for dinner and returned home with more butternut squash than I knew what to do with. Yeah, I didn’t see that one coming.

Fortunately, I recently encountered a life changing butternut squash soup with browned butter. So I began the hunt for the perfect recipe… as always. While I found one I admired,(eat.repeat’s) I really wanted to roast the squash. So I consulted with my bible favorite cookbook, The New Best Recipe. (It’s my guide to all things food. Highly recommended.) They didn’t roast the squash either, so I took matters into my own hands.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

(Adapted from eat.repeat and The New Best Recipe)

Ingredients:

1 large butternut squash

2 tsp hazelnut or olive oil (approximate)

1 shallot, sliced

2 tbsp butter

4 large garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup shredded carrots

4 cups chicken stock (the less sodium, the better. I suggest home made for the best results)

2 bay leaves

1 granny smith apple, peeled and cored, cut into 6 pieces

1 tsp thyme

salt and pepper

1/4 cup heavy cream

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Directions:

Halve the squash lengthwise and remove seeds. Brush with about 1 tsp of hazelnut or olive oil. Bake, cut side down, at 350 for about an hour or until tender.

In a large, heavy stock- pot, melt the butter until foamy. Add the garlic and shallot. Cook until translucent. Add carrots, apple, thyme. Cook for another 2 minutes. Then add the chicken broth and bay leaves. Bring to a boil and cook for about 10 minutes. Reduce to a simmer and cook covered until the carrots are tender. Remove bay leaves.

Once the squash has cooled, scrape the squash and remove the peel.

Using a blender, puree the squash with the contents of the stockpot. (You may have to do this in small batches.) Return to stockpot and bring to a low simmer. Add the heavy cream and cider vinegar. Stir well. Salt and pepper to taste.

I recommend topping with browned butter for the final touch. Plus, a simple swirl and you have a beautiful, elegant design.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

