Super Simple Salad

on

I don’t know about you guys, but I often need, physically need a salad. Especially after a day like St. Patrick’s Day. While I soaked up my rueben, my Toppers cheesesticks and some corned beef and cabbage, I’m the kind of girl who craves salads. I simply love them. Some people do not understand their versatility. These are the people I envy while standing in the salad dressing aisle of the grocery store. They quickly grab their usual salad topping and move on as I stare at the countless options in a state of awe and panic.

Now, I recently joked with my significant other about my syndrome. It’s called, make-everything-from-scratch syndrome. Symptoms include snubbing boxed mixes, never having enough eggs and constant bouts of insanity. (Often wondering why on earth you didn’t buy the flipping mix.) And then you taste what you have taken the extra steps for. All the chaos is suddenly worthwhile as you savor the made-from-scratch goodness. It’s a gift and a curse simultaneously.

I stumbled into Vom Fass about a year ago and haven’t been the same since. They have an assortment of oils and vinegars for all your cooking and baking needs. You can bring in your bottles and fill them up, as much or as little as you want. The best part is you can TASTE them before you buy them! No more staring at that $15 bottle of balsamic in the grocery aisle wondering if it will be worth the $15. Whoo-hooo!

I’ve grown dependent on their hazelnut oil and their Maletti Aceto balsamic di Modena. Typically, I throw a touch of each of these on some greens with fresh ground pepper and I’m good to go for a salad fix. I’m not sure what it is about hazelnut oil, but it is quite amazing on a salad. If you haven’t tried it before, please, please do.

Often I find my Vom Foss bottles empty. I turn to this simple salad dressing. It doesn’t take long to prepare and I typically have all the ingredients on hand.

Simple Salad

Ingredients (All ingredients are able to be modified depending on preference.)

3 cups mixed baby greens (approximately)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 tsp honey

1 small clove garlic, finely chopped

pinch of kosher salt

pinch of fresh ground pepper

Directions

Mix oil, vinegar, honey, garlic, salt and pepper together with a whisk in a small bowl.

Place greens in a large bowl. Pour dressing mixture over greens and allow to lightly coat. The large bowl is essential to lightly coating the greens. Plate and top with cheese, vegetables and nuts of choice.

I prefer blue cheese, tomatoes and toasted pine nuts. You may also skip the toppings and enjoy the simple mixed greens and dressing on their own.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Adrienne says:

    Marnie, I also suffer from make-everything-from-scratch syndrome. It started when I opened a jar of baby food for my son about 2 years ago and was disgusted…so I made my own baby food. It has spiraled out of control since then. I’ll occasionally cheat (then feel guilty), but nothing beats something from scratch! And a lot of times, it’s cheaper (another thing I’m fond of!). I’ll have to check out Vom Foss, I’ve never heard of it (and I heart balsamic vinegar).

    1. Marnie says:

      That’s funny! I just bought a cookbook of baby food for my best friend. I promised her a few weekends next year of baby-food-making for her little one!

      1. Adrienne says:

        It’s sooooo easy. All you need is a food processor and some ice cube trays to freeze the purees in (well, I guess an oven to cook in helps too 😉 ).

  2. Don’t even get me started on Toppers…thankfully there is only one in the twin cities and they won’t deliver to us. 🙂
    You and Eric should come visit this Spring. We’ll eat. A lot.

Leave a Reply

