Bringin Costa Rica Back

YUP!

Them other sauces don’t know how to act… YUP!

Man. JT needs to come out with another album. Soon.

I just finished reading The Girl Who Played with Fire. If there is one thing comparable to finding the perfect bite, it’s finding a book I can’t put down. I love movies, but prefer to read first and form my own vision of each character and their world. I realize that typically results in a disappointing movie, but there is a lot to be said when I come home from Costa Rica and instead of turning on the tv and catching up with my dvr, I cuddle on the couch and bury myself in a book. (Yes, in addition to make-everything-from-scratch syndrome, I also suffer from can’t-put-a-book-down syndrome.)

With that said, I also made a killer chicken broth while reading. There is something all too enjoyable about not even peeling an onion; just cutting the tear jerker in half and throwing it in a stock pot brings me a sense of satisfaction I can’t quite describe. Recipe to come soon.

Also, last week, I retrieved some Costa Rican Lizano from my saucy smuggler. (I would have had it a month ago but the bottle is well over 3 oz.  Thanks to idiots who have resorted to using commercial planes as weapons, I can’t carry on a bottle of sauce!) Don’t let the word ‘salsa’ on that beautiful bottle fool you. It’s a sweet blend of somethin that makes this dish pop. By the end of our trip I was trying to figure out just how I was going to eat breakfast without this divine condiment.

Costa Rican Gallo Pinto

Ingredients:

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1/2 onion, chopped

1/4 cup tri color peppers, chopped (I used frozen)

1 clove garlic, minced

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 cup beef broth

2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp cumin

2 cups brown rice, cooked (You don’t have to use brown, I just have that on hand always.)

cilantro

Lizano Sauce

Directions

Heat the vegetable oil on medium heat. Add onions and peppers. Cook until translucent. Add garlic and cook another 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Add beans, broth, Worcestershire and cumin. Cover, reduce heat to low and let simmer for 10 minutes.

Salt, pepper, cilantro and lizano to taste with rice. Easy Peasy.

Leave a Reply

