Sun dried tomato & feta on a log


What do you do when you find yourself with an overabundant amount of feta cheese? (Besides sigh with joy?)

Make yummy tomato, onion and feta omelttes? Yes!

Throw some on all forms of pizza? Done!

Add to all salads? Of course!

Accidently drop a bunch on the kitchen floor and cringe when it goes into the garbage? Unfortunate yes.

After exhausting all of my feta norms, I decided to get a little crazy last week. I’ve developed a bad habit of having appetizers when I make a big meal. Typically it’s a small cheese plate consisting of cheese I need to eat before it goes bad and one I just bought. Sometimes it’s hummus, something else I hold dear to my heart.  Last week it was a blend of cream cheese, feta, sun dried tomatoes and garlic… one of my brighter ideas.

I made a bit too much for two people. (Always) And tasted it over the course of a few days. I’d recommend letting it set for a day to let the flavors blend, but chilling for a few hours is ok too.

Sun-dried tomato & Feta on a Log

Ingredients:

1/4 brick of cream cheese, about 4 tablespoons, softened

1 oz dry sun dried tomatoes, chopped

1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled

2 cloves garlic, minced  (I love garlic, so reduce if you hope to be smooched by Edward anytime soon)

1 tbsp balsamic glaze

5 celery sticks, cleaned and cut in half

Directions:

Combine cream cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, feta, garlic and glaze until smooth. Refrigerate for 2 hours to two days.

When ready to serve, spoon onto celery and serve.

My pup, Skyd, thought they looked delicious.

What's goin on there mom??

Leave a Reply

