Cookie Monster

A few weekends ago, life handed me a rather large lemon and instead of making lemonade, I made a crab cocktail. And I super sized that #*$!h.

No joke, I didn’t want to do anything. I didn’t even cook! So after a day and a half of acting like a child, I told myself no more being sad. It’s exhausting. And back to cooking and baking asap.

I got to thinking. What is one of my favorite childhood memories? What makes me feel like a kid again and reminds me of all the good in the world? Answer: Monster Cookies.

There is just something about a recipe that calls for a dozen eggs, 18 cups of oatmeal and 3 pounds of peanut butter. Yes, you read that correctly 18 cups. Of Oatmeal. 3 pounds. Of peanut butter. Have I mentioned how much I love peanut butter? My love for peanut butter, cream cheese and garlic could probably bring the world to peace.

So I popped in Despicable Me, turned on my oven and searched my cabinets in pursuit of happiness.

Monster Cookies

recipe from my mom

* A quarter of a batch yields about 4 dozen cookies.

Ingredients:

1 dozen eggs

2 lbs brown sugar

4 cups white sugar

1 tbsp vanilla

1 tbsp white syrup

8 tsp baking soda

1 lb margarine, room temperature

3 lbs peanut butter

18 cups quick oats

1 lb chocolate chips (milk or semi-sweet, whichever you prefer)

1 lb M&M’s

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°.

Mix in order given. (Do not dump all the ingredients in at once, then mix. Mix the eggs and the brown sugar. Then the white sugar into the brown sugar and egg mixture and so forth.) Yes, once I dumped all the ingredients together and proceeded to mix. Not recommended.

Use large scoop to place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bake for approximately 12 minutes.

Tips:

Yes, you read this correctly, there is no flour.

These cookies spread, so do not place them too close together.

I omit the M&M’s because I love the taste of oatmeal and peanut butter with a hint of chocolate. I am aware this in unthinkable for many and completely understand if you need to increase the amount of chocolate.

And just in case you don’t already know, store your cookies with a piece of bread to keep them from drying out!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Never heard of the bread tip before – good to know! I love that the recipe calls for 18 cups of oatmeal!!
    Hope everything is ok…

Leave a Reply

