Spiced Pecans

I am fortunate enough to have the maintenance guy live above me.

The other day, he knocked on my door and asked if I had a leak in my humble home.

The next day, I spotted a small pool of water forming on my countertop. Three hours later and (insert sarcasm font) I can now see the beauty beneath the drywalls of my apartment complex. Three to be exact. One, soley because a favorite screwdriver attempted to jump to it’s death between the walls. Maintenance man keeps asking me about renters insurance, talking about how disastrous this could have been if I had been out of town, and inspecting my dryer vent. He said something along the lines of  “Does it take 4 hours to dry your clothes?” (Apparently there is a pinch??) All I can think about throughout this whole escapade is… When can I get back in my kitchen?? Seriously, I just made spiced pecans.

I should also mention that I told them they could disregard any dry-walling today, because I am having my dear friend Theresa over for dinner and some 90210 tonight. I have my priorities.

Back to the pecans. They’re fantastic on salads, ice cream and fish. They have a small amount of spice, but an overall sweet, nutty flavor. The add the perfect amount of sweet to a dish without overwhelming your taste buds.

Spiced Pecans

(Adapted from Emeril’s Spiced Nuts Recipe)

Ingredients

2 tbsp butter

3 tbps brown sugar

2 tbsp water

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1/8 tsp cumin

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 cup pecans

2 tbsp cinnamon sugar mixture

Directions:

Mix brown sugar, cayenne, cumin, cinnamon and salt together and set aside.

Heat nuts on a dry skillet, on medium heat, until lightly toasted and set aside.

Add butter, water and spice mixture to skillet. Stir together and allow to cook about 1 minute, until a glaze forms.

Add pecans to the glaze and mix gently, lightly coating the pecans.

Cook approximately 2 additional minutes.

Transfer to tinfoil and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.

Allow to cool, then store in an airtight container.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I love spiced nuts! My Mom makes some really good curried pecans and I keep meaning to put them on a salad! (Although I love your fish idea!)

    1. Marnie says:

      ooohhh… curried pecans sound heavenly. I love these with just about anything!

Leave a Reply

