Bees-n-Cheese

Last weekend I helped plan my bestest friend in the whole wide world a baby shower. Her sister came up with a bee and tulip theme that I took, surprise surprise, a bit far. Let’s just say I made Friday night’s help take a vow to not detest me after the bee-pop making process.

I’m not kidding. They had to raise their right hand and everything.

All went above and beyond expected. Perfect in fact. But I know what you’re thinking. Really Marnie? It’s a baby shower.

But… do you have that friend who’s amazing-ness is, at times, difficult to conceive? Someone who makes you a better person, always? Someone who, when you hear is having a crappy day, you want to race to her house, give her a huge hug and kung-fu-fight anyone who comes close to doing anything that doesn’t involve making her happy again? Not only am I beyond blessed to have someone like this in my life, but she’s going to be a mom, a beamingly beautiful, brilliant mom, in about a month.

Saying “I’m excited” for her little miracle is an understatement.

You can imagine my dismay when I had to think of the proper appetizer. I mean, A-game ON.  Fortunately, I scored a fantastic recipe for the perfect cheese ball from another fabulous friend. And man-o-man did this baby (ha ha) do it’s job.

As promised, here is the recipe.

Cheesetastic Cheese Ball

Recipe from Andrea Showers

Ingredients: (You can add more or less of any. )

1 ½ bricks cream cheese

¼ cup blue cheese crumbles

½ cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese

½ cup of golden raisins

1 cup chopped dates

½ cup chopped pecans

ritz crackers for serving

Directions:

Let the cream cheese sit out for a few hours so it is softened.

Mix everything together EXCEPT the pecans.

Using wax paper, roll into a ball.

Coat the outside with pecans.

Refrigerate and take out a little before serving so it can soften a bit.

** I may or may not have made this with orange-flavored sour raisins this weekend… and it still turned out fabulous. So feel free to “have your way” with it.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hmmm, you know I love a cheese ball! 🙂
    This one sounds great with the blue cheese.

  2. Jackie says:

    I swear this was the best thing at the shower which is saying quite a lot because it had to compete with my mom’s famous chicken salad, the bumble bee pops, fruit kabobs with custard dip, seriously, I could go on and on. Marnie, you truly out did yourself. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

