Roasted Chicken and an Apology

I started a new job.

My friends are producing at a rate I cannot keep up with.

And it’s finally getting nice out here.

Those are my excuses for not posting in what feels like an eternity. And while I understand most people are capable of doing it all, I temporarily threw my hands in the air. And I apologize for leaving you without visions of food dancing in your head.

But I have been cooking.  And taking pics. So… here we go. One of my new favorites… Roast Chicken.

I followed two recipes for this. First, you have to truss the chicken. Yes, truss. This involves the use of twine and gettin dirrty.  I would try to explain this to you but I am not as creative as a new co-worker of mine, Brent Dixon. Nor am I even going to attempt to be more thorough than the all mighty Alton Brown, so check out the video here.

Why do you need to tie a chicken up like so? Because it allows for even cooking delicious-ness.

Secondly, I found a recipe online that had 962 people rate it at an average of 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Nine hundred and sixty-two.

That’s a LOT of people who have taken the time to admit something is beyond good. So I had to try it. And it was a massive success. I tweaked it a bit, by placing the 4 tablespoons of butter in under the skin. Turns out beautifully every time.

Roast Chicken

Recipe tweaked from Alton Brown and All Recipes

Ingredients:

1 3.5 chicken

4 tablespoons butter

3 celery stalks

1 tablespoon onion powder

salt & pepper to taste

kitchen twine

Directions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350°

2. Pat chicken dry with paper towel and dust cavity with onion powder.

3. Separate skin from meat and insert 4 tablespoons of butter under the skin.

4. Place celery stalks in the cavity and truss the chicken. (I promise it’s worth the work.) Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

5. Bake, uncovered for 1 hour and 15 minutes. (or internal temp of at least 180°) Cover with foil for 30 minutes before serving.

I love this because it allows for time to get the side dishes in order while it sets.  Also… don’t throw away the carcass! Home-made chicken stock is THE BEST. Recipe coming soon.

And I mean soon. Not a month soon…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jackie says:

    That’s frickin hilarious! I just made this last week.

Leave a Reply

