Chicken Stock

A brief excerpt from a conversation I had over some delish dinner a few months ago:

Me: Home-made chicken stock is so easy. Throw everything in a pot and let it simmer for 5 hours.

Ryan: You have to be home for 5 straight hours?

Me: Sure. I typically do it on a cleaning day.

Dave (my best friends husband): You can clean for 5 hours?

Nicky (my best friend): SEE! It can be done.

Sigh. This is what best friends are for. Loving your idiosyncratic behavior and taking it a step further than anyone else.

Home-made chicken stock is something I never thought I would accomplish. It’s so simple to buy the 80 cent cans. But… when making soups, 80 cents quickly multiplies. I have accepted that my love for roasted chicken is never going anywhere. So whether I make one from scratch or just buy one of those great little guys from the store, I save the carcass in a zip lock bag and toss it into the freezer. Once I have two or three, I thaw and prepare for some afternoon simmering action.

And yes, I’m aware. It is another symptom from “made-from-scratch” syndrome I suffer from.

Chicken Stock

Ingredients:

3 chicken carcasees

1 onion, quartered

1 head of garlic, halved

2 large carrots, cut in half

1 turnip, quartered

3 ribs celery, cut in half

2 bay leaves

3 tbsp whole peppercorns

2 tbsp kosher salt

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients in a large stockpot.
  2. Fill stockpot 3/4 full with water and allow to simmer for at least 5 hours.
  3. Remove from heat. Strain contents from the broth. Discard bones and vegetables.
  4. Refrigerate the broth covered overnight.
  5. The next day, skim the excess fat that has accumulated.
  6. I store the broth in a variety of containers and freeze for use*.
*Prior to use, boil the stock for 3 minutes.
Use to make my favorite fall soup, Butternut Squash, as a substitute for water in rice or any recipe that calls for chicken stock.
2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

