Summer Rolls

This weekend, I learned my television is capable of passively exhibiting a NASCAR race. My dad snuck the alleged sport in during yesterday’s Packer game. I would find myself all excited about a touchdown then CLICK.  vvvrrrrmmm. vvvvrrrrmmmm. Something in a southern accent. vrrrrmmm. vrrrrmmm.  I unconsciously shoot a look of panic at my mother. She giggles at the unquestionable torment spread across my face. My sister joins her.

Can’t a girl just want to watch Chicago lose?

I typically avoid race time with the rents. Alright. Any race time. I don’t have a lot against it. I just can’t sit and watch cars drive in circles for hours. And hours. And hours. I get there is much more to it. Really. I do. I read The Art of Racing in the Rain and absorbed more about racing than I ever intended outside of discussions with my father.

I just don’t care. But it’s all good. It’s quite clear that my parents care more than enough for themselves and me. And I’d be willing to bet enough for you too if you can feel my pain. Keep in mind, this rant is coming from someone who can clean for 5 straight hours. We all have our issues.

Prior the NASCAR invasion, I had the pleasure of hanging out with my favorite ladies. Food was served bountifully and I provided summer rolls. Once upon a time I forced these bad boys on them by surprise and now they are half as addicted as me. (If you’ve ever had them, you know what I’m talking about.) Keep in mind you can use chicken or just load up the veggies. I’ve had them with mint and basil. I like them with the ingredients I’ve posted, but please put what will make your taste-buds happy! I discovered a secret about these on Saturday: doubling up on the wrappers. And do not use too hot of water when soaking the wraps. (After making these a dozen times, I’ve learned.) Serve them with a peanut sauce and sweet vinegar dipping sauce. You know when I get the recipe nailed, I will do nothing but spread the love. I will tell you I am trying this one next.

Summer Rolls

Ingredients:

Spring Roll Wrappers

Vermicelli Rice noodles

1 tsp vegetable oil

Shrimp, peeled and cold (I recommend large but not jumbo)

Lettuce

Cucumber, cut into  ¼ inch strips

Shredded carrots

Avocado, cut into ¼ inch strips

Cilantro

Black Sesame Seeds

Directions:

  1. Cook the vermicelli according to the instructions. I like to put a little vegetable oil in the water to keep the noodles from getting too sticky.
  2. Soak the spring roll wrappers in warm water. Soak until they are pliable. (Do not use boiling water or your rolls will tear.)
  3. I double my spring roll wrappers up. Place them on the counter.
  4. Place 3 or 4 shrimp and a small piece of lettuce on the center of the circle.
  5. Place a small handful of the vermicelli on top of the lettuce.
  6. Top with a slice of avocado, cucumber and a small amount of the carrots. (Or a bunch if that is your cup of tea.)
  7. Sprinkle with cilantro and sesame seeds.
  8. Tightly wrap the rolls. This guy does a great job of showing you how if you have questions.
  9. Serve with peanut sauce (coming soon) and a sweet chili sauce.

Leave a Reply

