Roasted Cauliflower

I really don’t consider myself a pork schnitzel kind of girl.

I consider myself an all-you-can-dip, overboard for seafood, bread-head kind of lady. When checking out the menu at one of the most delicious establishments in Madison, there are many possibilities considered prior to a pork schnitzel. However, during restaurant week your choices are limited. Sometimes you make rash decisions.

Sometimes you make life changing decisions.

Graze did this to me last winter. Their pork schnitzel with celeriac purée, caper gremolata, lemon sauce, and brown butter made me realize how truly wonderful life can be. And I’m still trying to figure out what in the heck a celeriac purée is. (My first guess; it’s clearly fat-free deliciousness on an express route from heaven to my plate.) What I do know is that it’s creamy texture pairs perfectly with the crunch of the schnitzel. I know that the browned butter and the caper gremolata belong together. I know that when all four of those things hang out together on your fork, you can’t help but be happy with the clever flavor combination.

With that said, it has been removed from the menu until further notice. This is both a good and a bad thing. Good because Graze has the habit of utilizing locally sourced pastures. Which means their menu is constantly evolving, creating additional opportunities to delight my taste buds. Bad because I have to wait until next winter to have this delectable dish in my belly.

Unless I do one of two things.

1. Figure out how to make this dish on my own.

2. Kidnap the executive chef.

Check the papers people. Because there are some things I realize that are just out of my scope.

Why am I bringing this up now? A year later? Because last night I had the pleasure of confirming the flavors of this dish. With a dear friend I hadn’t seen in almost 5 years. Good food + old friends = one undeniably happy Marnie. Wanna know what else makes me happy?

Roasted Cauliflower

Ingredients:

½ head of cauliflower, broken down into large chunks

2 tbsp olive oil

8 cloves of garlic (or however many you’d like)

¼ lemon

3 tbsp parmesean cheese

2 tbsp fresh parsley

salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Crank the oven up to 450°.
  2. Toss the cauliflower and garlic cloves in the olive oil until evenly coated.
  3. Place in one layer in a shallow baking dish.
  4. Bake for about 30 minutes or until cauliflower browns.
  5. Remove from oven and squeeze with lemon over the cauliflower.
  6. Toss parmesean and parsley. Then salt and pepper to taste.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Christy says:

    Ooh ooh! I vote for #2. Kidnap the executive chef (I’ll even drive the getaway car 😉 …But if that doesn’t work please please try to figure out how to make it…& then blog it 🙂 Pork schnitzel by Marnie + Girl’s night = A yummy good time!

Leave a Reply

