Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Spread on Pita

This title leaves little room for interpretation; I’m aware. But don’t let the lack of creativity with the name fool you. These things are worth a try. And once you try them, you’ll thank me.

I recently made this as an appetizer for my book club amigas. I thought I was super clever and subbed croissants (the kind you buy at the store and roll out) for the pita in honor of The Hunger Games. I learned an important lesson: Never pick the theme over the flavor. Ever. The combination of the goat cheese mixture and sweet onions overpower anything you put them on.

And… if you haven’t read the The Hunger Games… get to it! Now. The first movie comes out March 23rd which gives you less than a month to complete the series. (Which is totally do-able since they are one of the most addictive series I’ve read to date.)

p.s. I’m totally Team Gale.

***I suggest making the spread about a day in advance to let the flavors develop.

Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Spread on Pita

Adapted from our Holiday work party

Ingredients:

4 oz goat cheese

¼ cup sour cream

1 clove garlic, minced

1 shallot, minced

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

½ cup caramelized onions

6 pitas

Instructions:

1. Combine the goat cheese, sour cream, garlic, shallot, salt and pepper in a bowl until well combined.

2. Cover and refrigerate. Allow to sit for at least 6 hours.

3. Smear the goat cheese spread on the pita and top with caramelized onions.

4. Devour.

Leave a Reply

