Wedge Salad, my way

10 Things That Make Me Smile

  1. My family is healing wonderfully! My sister’s new nickname is speed bump and my brother just kicked cancer’s a$$. It was a rough couple of months but they came out better than ever.
  2. I just gave Skyd a much needed bath and haircut. I’m happy that is crossed of my to-do list.
  3. Tickets for my trip to Portland & Vancouver are purchased. I cannot wait to see those beautiful twins and give ’em some Wisconsin love.
  4. My recent fascination with Citizen Cope. I check his site religiously to see if he’ll be in my radius.
  5. Trader Joe’s. I’m obsessed right now. And not because there is an incredibly cute boy who works there. I got my hands on some cookie butter.
  6. Iced Tea. I am attempting to give up soda. Not permanently, but drastically reducing my intake. I’ve had one soda in a week. If iced tea didn’t exist I wouldn’t make it.
  7. My niece’s friends. Last week I found out she’s got some great ones. Just seeing her laughing and joking with them left me utterly speechless. It’s a moment I’ll treasure forever.
  8. Pinterest. Thanks to it, I’m now completely obsessed with mason jars and pallets.
  9. I’m testing my green thumb this summer with an assortment of herbs. Mint for mojitos, basil for my bruschetta and cilantro for… everything.
  10. The 6th Annual Brewer Bash & my first Brewer game of the year in less than a week.

And now for the salad that made my day. My version of a wedge salad.

Image

Yes, I left out the iceberg lettuce. And yes, those are pickled beets. And sadly, in my excitement, I forgot to include the bacon. (Don’t forget the bacon.)

Ingredients:

  • Spring salad mix
  • Precooked, chilled asparagus spears
  • Pickled Beets
  • Tomatoes (Those look brown because they are! Kumatos)
  • Sliced Red Onion
  • Blue Cheese
  • Blue Cheese Dressing
  • Spiced Pecans
  • Bacon

Since this is a salad, I’m assuming you can put them all in a bowl and top accordingly. Let me know what you think because I’m obsessed with this flavor combination.

Leave a Reply

