Cream Cheese and Roasted Garlic Twice Baked Potatoes

So.. I don’t know if I’ve told you guys, but I have a mean habit of meeting undeniably awesome people. If one could somehow be judged on having the best friends and family and made into an Olympic event, I’d be a gold medalist for sure. I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s simply a gift. It’s obvious with my family, the friends I have managed to stay in touch with throughout my life (even after move after move after move) and now my job fits the bill.

Most recently I was reminded of this talent during my book club meetings. Yes. At my book club. For starters, I was invited to this book club by my best friend’s sister. I love my best friend but she lives about 3 hours away, so we don’t get to see one another as much as we’d like. Her sister lives here in Madison. After 15 years it’s impossible to not love get to know your best friend’s sister.  She is the kind of girl who comes up with a game titled Launchy Beery Swimmy for Beer Olympics. And yes, I just said Beer Olympics, but that’s another story for another post. When it came time to throw the ultimate baby shower, I couldn’t have asked for a better partner in crime. And her wedding was one for the books, even if the humidity and temperature tested us that August day. She was one of the happiest brides I’ve ever seen. You can see why we get along. Let’s just say there is always much learning and laughing when we’re together.

She introduced me to someone who, after reading my post about Roasted Cauliflower, sent me the recipe for celeriac puree. In an email. Having made it herself. She also managed to get continuing education classes for going to a wine tasting.

Brilliant, right? You can have your gold medals Michael Phelps. I like my gift more.

My life is kind of awesome. And so are these potatoes.

Ingredients: (makes 4 servings)

2 potatoes

1 tbsp butter

3 tbsp cream cheese

1 head of roasted garlic

¼ cup sharp cheddar cheese

2 tbsp milk

2 tbsp olive oil

salt & pepper

Directions:

  1. Scrub the potatoes clean, stab ’em with a fork or knife few times and nuke them. (I keep it simple and use the ‘baked potato’ option on my microwave. Isn’t life grand?)
  2. Once the potatoes are baked and allowed time to cool to handling temperature, slice in half (whichever way you choose) and scoop out the core. Leave a thin layer of potato underneath the skin for stability. Place the guts of the potato in a mixing bowl.
  3. Pre-heat oven to 350°
  4. Add the butter, milk, cheese and garlic to the potatoes. Mix thoroughly. Salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Brush the skins with olive oil and sprinkle with a little bit of salt.
  6. Scoop the mixture back into the potato skins and bake until the tops get beautifully golden. I used mini-muffin tins.
3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

