Bad Mexican Breakfast Quesadilla

It’s true. I don’t speak a lick of spanish, I can’t handle my tequila, and I prefer sushi over tacos any day. By some standards, I’m kind of a bad Mexican.

It’s a bit of an ongoing joke I have with my friends. And it’s immediately apparent to those who share my heritage. But what can I do? I didn’t apply myself to my spanish class my sophomore year of high school (which I regret, often), tequila is the meanest substance on earth and sushi is just bangin delicious.

In my defense, I am only 25% Mexican. And I think the love I have for my family & friends, spicy food and cilantro make up for my lacking latina qualities.

When I went to the Madison Farmers’ Market this past weekend, the smoked trout sung to me. I love the combination of smoked fish, cream cheese and tomato. Like, ate it every morning when I was in San Francisco last month kind of love. Four straight days. Vegetable fritta? No thanks. Smoked salmon, tomato, cream cheese, caper & red onion please. Gruyère and carmelized onion breakfast bake? Sounds delish, but I’ll take the smoked salmon, tomato, cream cheese, caper & red onion please. Delicious breakfast pastries move aside… you know what this girl wants.

As I pulled the remaining amount of my fish from the fridge today; I had an epiphany. Breakfast + smoked fish + corn tortillas.

Heaven.

Oh. And it gave me an excuse to use some chives from my herb garden. More on that soon. And for the record, I do have a goal to learn the language in the near future.

Bad Mexican Breakfast Quesadilla

Ingredients:

3 egg whites, beaten

3 oz smoked fish

2 corn tortillas

1 tbsp cream cheese (I suggest whipped)

pinch of garlic salt

1 tbsp chives, chopped

½ tomato, sliced thin

salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Mix the cream cheese and garlic salt together in a small bowl.
  2. Whisk the eggs, salt & pepper in a bowl. Heat over a pan, scramble the eggs & set aside.
  3. Warm the corn tortillas on a skillet until lightly toasted.
  4. Spread the cream cheese on the tortillas, and stack the eggs, tomato & fish.
  5. Sprinkle with chives.
  6. Sandwich together & DEVOUR.
  7. Be thankful you don’t have to take gobs of photos of the dilla before you can devour. Seriously.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yay, a new post! Have you tried smoked trout out of a can? I have two cans, but am scared. 🙂
    PS. Richie and I went on a taco crawl last weekend – SO. much. fun.

    1. Marnie says:

      1. New post. Finally. 🙂 Life!
      2. No but I totally would. I’m addicted to smoked oysters in a can & recently had some italian/canned sardines in Portland with accompaniments. Delish!
      3. I saw the pics. I’m terribly jealous!

Leave a Reply

