Portobello Heaven

I am about to say something I never say.

I hit the jackpot on this sandwich.

I mean, this is devine. The kind of taste combination that just leaves me stunned, silent, and blissfully happy with a euphoric smile slapped across my face. I’d be happy if I found this gem at a local dining establishment. I’m like a kid in the candy store knowing I can make it at any time of day in my favorite sweats.

Let’s just put it this way. I wasn’t even very hungry when I put this together 3 hours ago. I made it to procrastinate reading close to 100 pages of pre-reading for a work meeting I have tomorrow. (Which is still hanging out, unread, on my counter… staring at me.) Then I started this blog. Now, rekindling memories of it’s delicious-ness, I kind of want another one. I’m half tempted to proclaim olympic gold in procrastination by making a trip to Sentry for some more portobello caps.

No joke.

Portobello Sandwich

Ingredients

good bread, sliced (I recommend Madison Sourdough Bread Company)

large portobello cCaps (5-6 inches in diameter)

avocado, sliced

red onion, thickly sliced

tomato (I usually use a sliced beefsteak, but I only had cherry tomatoes on hand today)

shredded cheese (I used a shredded roasted red pepper, but use what makes you smile.)

1/3 cup mayonnaise

½ lemon

2 cloves of garlic, minced (use 1 clove if you’re not a massive fan of garlic)

1 tsp dried thyme

4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

salt & pepper

Directions:

  1. Mix the mayonnaise, lemon, garlic and thyme in a small bowl. Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.
  2. Using a basting brush, baste the onion, portobellos and bread with olive oil.
  3. Grill the onion and portobello caps simultaneously. Flip after 15 minutes*.
  4. After an additional 10 minutes* top the portobello with the cheese and allow to melt.
  5. Lightly grill the bread.
  6. Slather some of the mayonnaise mixture on the bread. (Depending on how many sandwiches you make and your love of this concoction, you may have mixture left over.)
  7. Stack with the remaining ingredients, salt and pepper to taste, and enjoy.

 *Assuming you have a large portobello cap, about 5-6 inches in diameter.

Leave a Reply

