Bruschetta Pasta with Crispy Prosciutto & Parmesan

It’s days like today I am thankful I picked up a nasty habit… running.

Two months ago I was in Vancouver, Canada, on vacation, helping a dear friend with her 2 month old twins.  Yes…I’m aware the terms vacation and two month twins do not go hand and hand. Regardless, I was thousands of miles from the office, soaking up the Pacific Northwest with fantastic company. Out of thin air a “friend” sends me an email. It read:

“Interested? 🙂

www.race-brewers.com

The Inaugural Brewers Mini-Marathon is set to debut in Milwaukee at beautiful Miller Park on Saturday, September 22, 2012. The scenic route, giveaways and post-race tailgate party are sure to make this the most unique half marathon in the area.

My immediate thought: Absolutely not.

An hour later: What kind of friend asks someone to run 13.1 miles?

An hour and two minutes later: WHILE THEY’RE ON VACATION???

Now… I don’t exactly know what happened after that. I’ll go ahead and blame the Canadian air. Maybe those adorable faces I got to snuggle every day. Quite possibly the sheer joy I experienced as I blissfully inhaled my second-ever Japadog. All I know is I gave it a second thought.

Two months later, I’m training for my first half marathon. Yup. I’m going to run a distance I never thought these legs of mine capable of.

On my 32nd birthday.

The upside to training for a race like this: I have a few extra calories to consume.

Side-note: While I joke about this friend being less than spectacular, I feel the need to clarify just how much I adore her. She has quickly become one of my favorite human beings on the planet and not just because she loves food as much, if not more, than me. When you find someone who will run a 3 mile race with a cup on their head with you, give you a good book to read at the drop of a dime, and literally push you to go that extra mile, you keep ’em close. Thank you Stephanie. I adore you everyday except Tuesday. And even then I know I’m blessed to have you in my life.

Bruschetta Pasta with Crispy Prosciutto & Parmesan

Ingredients:
  • 2 large tomatoes
  • ½ small onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp balsamic glaze
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 slices prosciutto
  • ¼ cup parmesan
  • pasta of choice
Directions:
  1. Combine the tomatoes, onion, garlic, basil, olive oil, glaze, salt and pepper in a bowl and let the flavors combine for 1 hour.
  2. Pre-heat your oven to 350°. Place a sheet of aluminum foil on a baking pan. Lay the prosciutto flat and cover with another pan. Place 3 or 4 small mounds of parmesan on the top baking dish you have used to flatten the prosciutto. Bake for approximately 10 minutes, or until the parmesan discs are golden.
  3. Prepare your pasta as desired.
  4. Allow for your prosciutto and parmesan to cool until able to handle.
  5. Top your pasta with room temperature bruschetta mixture, crumbled prosciutto and parmesan disc.
Leave a Reply

