Turkey Burgaloaf

turkey burgaloaf 3

10 THINGS THAT ROCK MY WORLD

  1. My apple TV. This miraculous device connects my itunes world to my big screen. Between Netflix, HuluPlus and my iTunes movie purchases, I should be thankful it doesn’t count the amount of hours you watch on it.
  2. Pitch Perfect. On an unsuspecting Sunday Fat Amy entered my life and I haven’t been the same since.
  3. This crazy elephant toy my dog can’t get enough of.
  4. This cup. I fell in love so I got one for everyone for Easter, filled them with jellybeans (Starburst flavors, of course), and still get thank you’s for the kind introduction.
  5. A Kammok. Literally rocks. my. world. (I should add it’s not even mine. But it was the best gift I could have gotten a boy, ever.)
  6. iCloud reminders. Work to-do’s. Grocery lists. Event tracking. Simple. Elegant. Always available on my phone or my computer. I couldn’t ask for more.
  7. Yurbuds. You finally put on your running shoes and head out the door. You’re mid stride, feelin the burn but the song your blasting keeps you moving UNLESS your earbud falls out. Yeah. That doesn’t happen with Yurbuds.
  8. Quarterly.co. Not only do I have a subscription to Food52, but when in doubt, best. gift. ever.
  9. This Rally. Someday. You will be able to track me on this adventure. And provide my mother with her fill of worry in place of the grandchildren I have yet to provide her with.
  10. Despicable Me 2. And I haven’t even seen it yet!

I’m, of course, also a big fan of Turkey Burgaloaf. (Coin termed by Michael Tyler, whom you’ll soon hear from with our summer time root beer tastings.)

turkey burgaloaf

Turkey Burgaloaf

adapted from The New Best Recipe Cookbook

Ingredients:

½ medium onion, chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tbsp olive oil

1 lb ground turkey

1 egg

½ tsp salt

½ tsp pepper

1 tsp ground dijon mustard

¼ cup greek yorgurt

¾ cup oatmeal

¼ cup cilantro, chopped

4 slices bacon

½ cup ketchup

½ cup brown sugar

4 tsp apple cider vinegar

Instructions:

  1. Cook the bacon on medium heat in a medium sized shallow pan. Once cooked, set aside and dispose of most of the bacon grease. Leave a small amount for cooking the burgaloafs.
  2. In another skillet, heat the olive oil, onions, and garlic until the onions are almost translucent. Once cooked, allow to cool.
  3. Mix the onion mixture, turkey, eggs, slat, pepper, mustard, yogurt, oatmeal and cilantro together until well combined. Roll into 4 balls and flatten lightly.
  4. Combine the ketchup, brown sugar, and vinegar together over light heat.
  5. Cook the loafs over medium head, covered, until cooked through, flipping when necessary.
  6. Top with glaze & bacon.
Leave a Reply

